Writing

Standard

Author: Kara Mae Adamo.

So I guess it’s no secret that I’m an insomniac. This is what happens when you don’t sleep for two days.

Also: for some reason I can’t seem to add stanza breaks in this blog…imagine (if you can) that there is a break between every four lines. Iambic Pentameter is there–I promise!!

When the Witching Hour

has twice come ’round

and I’ve watched

without a blink,

The twisted words

of rhyme and verse

from shaking hands do ink.

I’ll coax them out

of my worn-tipped quill

watch them swirl and

bend and flow.

From my sleepy head

to a blue-lined pad

my riddled thoughts

will grow.

Half-awake

I’ll read them out

to this audience

of one

And misty-eyed

I’ll see them

and give rhythm

to what’s been done.

Out loud they are

more vivid;

their pattern

is given shape.

And as the sky

begins to lighten

the words will

then escape.

Off the walls

they’ll echo;

through cracks

they’ll surely slip

And on thin breeze

they’ll carry

the message

I have sent.

As it blows

they’ll waver

and my voice

will soon be lost:

Just a wayward sound

to clutter;

a whisper to

melt the frost.

And if all the world

would listen,

their efforts

would be in vain.

The vibrations

are far too subtle

and weighted

by this rain.

So harmlessly

I’ll write them;

my tired thoughts

‘ll be sorted out

And with one last dip

into blue-black ink,

I’ll silently

scream and shout.

It’s a power just to feel it–

that tonic called

written word–

To take what’s locked

and release it

to share my thoughts

with the world.

And while the rain

outside might shatter

the spoken bits

I’ve scribed

The energy of their

existence

(I assure you)

has not died.

The sense of them

will continue.

It’ll hang among

the tiers.

And as sunlight

rounds the corner,

it’ll slip through

waking ears.

It may seem like

it’s nothing–

just a thought

in a sleepy head–

It may only

last a moment;

gone once you have

been fed.

But at least

I know I’ve sent it

as my tired eyes

do close…

Three days long

I’ve waited

to finally

send this prose.

And once I have

awaken

(eyes brighter

from the sleep)

I know I’ll feel

much better

and clearer

I will think.

About Kara Mae Adamo

I have 11-1/2 years in the restaurant industry and spent my first semester in college supporting myself as a professional mural artist in Orlando, FL. I used to be a food and wine critic for My City Eats in Orlando, FL. I was a professional blogger for SOS eMarketing and the Senior Editor/Contributing Writer for The Gates of Seminole magazine and Gates Media, Inc. I now work for an Interior Design Company. We specialize in turnkey decor for vacation homes in Central Florida. On a more personal note, I'm basically trying to paint, laugh, sketch, write, rhyme, skim-board, sew, act, sing and dance my way through life--it's haphazard, it's often irrational, but it's exhilarating...and really, what else is there?

Leave a Reply

