The Whole Abortion Thing

Standard

Author: Kara Mae Adamo. 


I have a headache today…and it’s not just because of my new glasses.

Santorum, in his most recent stream of verbal idiocy, made a comment regarding prenatal care…and how it is, essentially, unnecessary. His comment, of course, is in reference to Obamacare (a cluster-fuck they have done their damnedest to render completely ineffective because, well, if he doesn’t make strides, it looks like he’s not trying to do anything…but that’s another argument completely.)

The quote went like this:

“One of the mandates is they require free prenatal testing in every insurance policy in America…why? Because it saves money in health care. Why? Because free prenatal testing ends up in more abortions and therefore less care that has to be done, because we cull the ranks of the disabled in our society.”

His argument has to do with the fact that, during prenatal testing, the doctors dealing with his wife’s pregnancy recommended abortion because their daughter suffers from Trisomy 18 (a chromosome disorder that often results in stillborns). Now, fortunately young Isabella was not a stillborn, but that really isn’t the point. The point is, Karen Santorum still sought prenatal testing when she was pregnant…because when you are pregnant that’s what you do.

To say that prenatal testing is unnecessary and to argue that it is part of a massive conspiracy to encourage abortions is ridiculous.

And what if it did?

Don’t get me wrong. I am not “pro-abortion”. I could never get one myself. It would absolutely destroy me and I don’t get over things easily enough. I’ve miscarried and it took over a year to shed that guilt from my mind. A purposeful ridding of my hypothetical child would, simply put, be out of the question.

For me.

I am, however, a realist. Just because would never want something done doesn’t mean that I want the government telling me whether or not it’s okay.

That’s the cliché answer for “pro-life” women. Please sit down for this next part, though, as I’m bound to make some waves.

For me, it’s not even about whether or not abortion is murder.

I’m sorry. It’s just not. I don’t know when “life begins.” I am not a scientist and I sure as hell am not a priest.

I am, however, a concerned global citizen.

We, as a populace, have grown too much. We are popping out way too many kids and, thanks to modern science, we are sticking around entirely too long (case in point: the near-depletion of social security funds). According to Jean-François Rischard (former president of the World Bank), we are projected to jump to 8 billion people by 2020. EIGHT BILLION. That’s an almost 2-billion jump in under a decade.

Our planet is already going to hell in a hand basket. We don’t have the space or the resources to contend with that kind of demographic explosion. I know it sounds cruel, but abortion is a form of population control. It sounds cold-hearted (and maybe it is), but facts are facts. Factor in water scarcity, poverty, infectious diseases, fishery depletion, biodiversity losses, deforestation, maritime pollution, and energy/food consumption, and this little traffic jam turns into a big problem. Cereal consumption alone is projected to rise by 30 percent. For those of you who insist on eating rotting, decomposing flesh, the meat consumption will jump by up to 60 percent.

Also, the same party that argues against the cruelty of abortion will dash away at the mere mention of socialized healthcare. I’m sorry, but until we are willing to take care of people that are already here, the argument regarding adding to that number is null. There are too many of us and there is no shortage of orphans out there. They’ll force you to have the kid, but then they’ll argue against the taxes set in place to care for it once it’s inevitably handed over to the state…and the charming, balloon-filled, happy home life that goes with it.

When people say that the unwanted child-fetus could go to a willing adoptive family, it makes me twitch because there are already plenty of children that lack homes, clothing, education and food.

I understand the idea that killing innocent children is not the answer, but let’s face it: we do that all the time.

In the last ten years, I have watched us give the finger to our fellow veto powers at the UN Security Council, strap up, and bomb the ever loving shit out of sovereign nations. We finance child trafficking and turn our noses to child soldier stories. So why, in the comfort of squeaky-clean suburbia, does the issue of murdering children suddenly come up? It’s hypocrisy, pure and simple.

I want my government to stay out of my personal life. Don’t tell me what to smoke, who to fuck and whether or not I should have a baby. Don’t tell me what to say, who to listen to, and please leave me alone about the faith thing. The day a presidential candidate admits to being an atheist is the day I dance a jig on the White House lawn…because the race should not be about faith. Freedom of religion was the entire point, was it not? Don’t get me wrong, I know that poor martyr would never make it to the primaries or might even end up stoned to death , but just the idea is enough to get me excited.

The life at conception argument is just as important to me as the argument over whether or not there is a gay gene…in that I don’t care. It’s not about that. It’s about numbers…just like these arguments are about numbers. Unfortunately, there are mitigating circumstances that lead people to have abortions. They’ll always be there and people will always get them. If you don’t like abortion, don’t get an abortion. But the idea that this is a prime issue in a country where so many other things have gone wrong is completely ridiculous.

As my friend Andrew says, they are flooding our media with insane, unfounded quotes regarding social issues because neither party has a solution for the economic issues we’re all facing…they are upsetting us on purpose: redirecting our focus so that we all talk about gay people marrying more and leave lack-o-cash on the back burner for a bit.

Syria was recently condemned, employment remains a constant headache on the domestic forefront, Egypt is screwed and Sara Palin still thinks it’s okay to drill for oil and simultaneously host a nature show. We have far more important issues on our hands.

About Kara Mae Adamo

I have 11-1/2 years in the restaurant industry and spent my first semester in college supporting myself as a professional mural artist in Orlando, FL. I used to be a food and wine critic for My City Eats in Orlando, FL. I was a professional blogger for SOS eMarketing and the Senior Editor/Contributing Writer for The Gates of Seminole magazine and Gates Media, Inc. I now work for an Interior Design Company. We specialize in turnkey decor for vacation homes in Central Florida. On a more personal note, I'm basically trying to paint, laugh, sketch, write, rhyme, skim-board, sew, act, sing and dance my way through life--it's haphazard, it's often irrational, but it's exhilarating...and really, what else is there?

20 responses »

  1. Good read. Personally, I can’t stand the thought of my tax dollars paying for the sexual irresponsibility of my peers, but seeing as how A) I can’t more-so tolerate the thought of killing unborn babies, B) population is a legitimate and serious issue, and C) we don’t live in a perfect world, I would be happy with said tax dollars paying for birth control, condoms, chastity belts, or whatever it takes to aid reduce A and B. And you’re right, Rick Santorum is an idiot and big government is most likely here to stay. We’ve officially become “one of those poor, poor oppressed nations” that we all feel sorry for.

    One more thing, don’t ever hold back what you feel just for fear of ruffling a few feathers. This ridiculous “politically correct” crap has got to go.

      • I just checked it out. I literally threw up in my mouth. See what I mean? This big government crap is alive and thriving, and it’s not going away. It’s disgusting. How can any American willfully vote to completely eliminate the rights of those whom they “serve”? And why is it always women getting picked on?

      • It’s disgusting and it’s only getting worse. Like my dad said last night, the Nazi’s shouted out their anti-jew propoganda for YEARS and nobody took them seriously…and look what happened. I’m to the point where I don’t even vote in the primaries anymore because I am convinced that we aren’t really voting for individuals. It doesn’t matter if Santorum wins or if Romney wins because they are really just fighting for a puppet-seat…we are voting for parties and, as a result, special interest groups. It’s right or left, not him or her.

        We live in a near-fascist oligarchy and we’re still trying to pretend it’s a democratic republic.

      • You are absolutely right. I still firmly believe that our votes are completely worthless, but in honor of all that is good about this nation, I do it anyway. This whole situation regarding the state of our nation feels like drowning in a cup of water in a room full of doctors who refuse to help you because they haven’t seen your insurance card.

      • I mean, to be fair, what if they took the insurance card and then later found out that you have a history of being unable to breathe underwater? THEN where would we be?

        I vote in the actual elections–just not the primaries. I don’t even belong to a party because I believe the point is moot and that there is a pendulum that swings between right and left…and that it is that balance that keeps us from toppling over on ourselves.

        But, of course, the party lines have shifted a bit. It used to be that the conservatives didn’t want “big government,” and now that’s all they seem to be about–they just don’t want the taxes that go with it.

        And the democrats need to get their heads out of their asses and start crunching numbers, because I have yet to hear one sound explanation about how we are going to get ourselves out of this economic pit we seem to be in.

        It’s possible, if Santorum manages to win, that I will wind up taking a 4+ year vacation abroad. I know it’s an unlikely event, but Bush was re-elected, so I don’t trust “likelihoods” anymore.

      • Haha, I could not agree more. I can’t tolerate the party system. Didn’t Lincoln say, “A house divided against itself cannot stand”? To me, that’s what political parties do. And I’m not even kidding, I’ve been researching New Zealand as a new home – plenty of open space, it’s on a part of the globe that is as far away as you can get from any possible or impending global war, which means it’s almost always forgotten about.

      • It does sound pretty ideal…lots of surfing and rock climbing there, too 🙂

        Where do they sit on the political spectrum? My only fear with living in a nation that is not a veto power is that you’re sort of at the whim of others…but, then again, being a civilian sort of does that anyway, regardless of where you live.

        I wonder how much property goes for out there..?

      • It’s all around more expensive to live there compared to the good ol’ US, but I could care less. As far as politics, Queen Elizabeth is the head of state who is represented through the Governor General. You could always by a 1 square foot piece of land in Scotland, therefore legally enabling you to change your name to Lord.

      • lol that can’t possibly be all it takes to be a Lord.

        You know, you do have a point, though–even if it’s more expensive, the quality of life is probably much better.

        I felt that way when I went to Monterey, CA…it’s still in the US, of course, but it’s such a different world. People are friendlier and it’s so beautiful–like a floating garden, really. It’s no wonder so many writers have found inspiration there.

      • Seriously, that’s all it takes!

        Yeah, Monterey is amazing. It’s like being in a completely different world. Places like that really are worth it to want to stay here, but then again, I don’t want to be within eight-thousand miles of this place when we’ve finally pissed the world off enough to try to blow us off the map lol.

      • true…but, I mean, let’s be honest. The environmental impact of any nuke going off will in some way mess us up no matter where we are–lest it be the moon or something

      • I have no problem being mutated and deformed, so long as I’m the last human on Earth. Then… finally some peace and quiet!

        But, yeah, back to the issue – our government needs to step off and leave us the hell alone ; )

      • Indeed. But controlling people is a powerful tonic–and, really, it’s what politics is all about. I don’t see the government loosening the strings anytime soon.

      • Nope. How unfortunate. Our only way is to become one of them, run for office… and get elected into that elite, safe club.

      • That’s right. What was once a point of pride, I feel no more. Trading in my title “American Hoosier” for… “Kiwi”. Not quite as tough, but hey, I’m a lover, not a fighter.

  2. While I don’t completely agree with everything you said, the idea that prenatal care and testing is unnecessary is absolutely ridiculous but of course, I wouldn’t expect anything else from Rick Santorum. It’s kind of ironic he says that, because most Republicans I know argue that when you offer prenatal testing, you’re more likely to prevent abortions. They believe that by seeing the fetus and its progress, a bond is more likely to form that would make it harder to have an abortion.

    I’ve been out of the United States for almost 2 months, and that fact that Rick Santoum seems to be leading in the primaries leads me to believe that most of the United States has gone completely batshit crazy. I can’t wait to see what my country looks like when I return at the end of the summer *_*

  3. Very interesting take. Here we are in this century getting into the birth control issue. I say
    leave it alone. If it works don’t fix it.

Leave a Reply

